Singles Quarter Final KO- unkind to Mijas

Updated: May 29

Congratulations to all the winners on Quarter Finals day, but well done everyone for getting to that stage. Juan Abeal was the only Mijas player to progress into the semi finals, but Mijas managed to stay in second place on the points tally.

A number of matches went right down to the wire with most going 25 ends before the outcome was known. The matches played at La Posada were keenly contested and played in good spirit despite every match being hard fought with some excellent bowling from all concerned. Sheila Wilson lost out 18-21 while Pauline Ball was on the wrong side of a 21-15 scoreline.

The results from the Saydo venue seen Juan Abeal securing a 21-18 victory over Jeff Rowe and Steve Ward losing by a single point against Mick Ansted from La Posada. Pauline Ward lost out 7-21 to a Saydo member on home soil.

A special mention to Saydo who managed to get all four ladies into the semi finals and a guaranteed 12 points as well as being responsible for extending their lead to date.

Better news for all the other clubs in the mens Semi Finals with every club having one representative in the semi finals and a chance for Mijas to gain 6 points if Juan can make home advantage count next Friday.

We are currently reviewing our original plan to hold both semi finals and final next Friday especially given the safety concerns with wearing face masks in mid to high 20 temperatures.

All the Mens Semi Finalists are being asked for their input before we make a decision about playing both Semis and Finals next Friday.

Given that all the ladies finalist are from Saydo they will play their Semi finals at Saydo before next Friday and will play the Final at Mijas next Friday. 10.30 for 11.00 start

The updated status sheet and draw for the semi finals is enclosed. It contains the various games scores from the quarter final matches.

43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Belated 2020/21 In house Finals

On Tuesday 15th June the Drawn Triples, Handicap Singles and Mens Championship Finals will be played with a post game tapas lunch. Geoff Collins, Ewan Fraser and John Rimell. vs. John Wilson, Ron Fox